LAYTONSVILLE HISTORIC DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES April 18, 2011

Roll Call:

The regular meeting of the Laytonsville Historic District Commission (HDC) was called to order by Member Jill Ruspi, at 7:30 p.m. Commission Members: Charles Hendricks, Joann Howes, Michele Shortley and Alternate Lisa Simonetti were present. Chair Sheree Wenger was absent.

Attendance: There were no guests in attendance.

Minutes:

The minutes from the meeting of March 21, 2011, were presented and approved as corrected.

Preliminary Statement by Chair:

The preliminary statement was not read.

Old Business:

Member Ruspi read a memo from Mayor Oland regarding a discussion that he had with Ryan Gaskell, President of the Laytonsville District Volunteer Fire Dept. (LDVFD). The memo stated that Mayor Oland had informed President Gaskell that the scrolling of the newly installed sign in front of the LDVFD was not in compliance with the permit issued and with the Town zoning code. In the memo, Mayor Oland states that the scrolling was to be turned off. President Gaskell indicated that he would talk to Mr. Murphy Richards on the matter.

New Business:

HDC terms will expire on July 1, 2011 for Chair Sheree Wenger and Member Joann Howes. The Mayor needs to be advised of their decision for reappointment.

Member Ruspi shared the Town flag design that she and Member Shortley have created. The flag will be used at the Maryland Municipal League (MML) convention in June to represent Laytonsville. Member Ruspi stated that she had presented the flag design to the Mayor and Council. Some suggestions were made regarding the addition of the color green to indicate agriculture, and the designation of Montgomery County being more clearly identified. Member Ruspi was asked to work with Member Shortley on revising the design, with Mayor Oland having the final approval. This flag is not designated as being an official flag so it can be changed in the future if necessary.

Adjournment:

There being no further business, Member Simonetti made the motion to adjourn the meeting which was seconded by Member Shortley. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 8:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Charlene Dillingham

Clerk, Town of Laytonsville